Sending multiple news alerts for a post

When are alerts sent?

Alerts are sent only at the date and time a "News only" post is published. Only one alert can ever be sent for any news post. If you need to send a second alert, you must create a new news post. You can no longer simply Unpublish and Republish the original post with a new date to trigger a new alert. 

Note: only News Posts which are set to one or more "News Categories" will generate alerts; "Announcement only" News Posts are private, and will never send alerts. If you publish a News Post to a category which has RSS and email alerts turned off, no alert will be sent. If you go back and re-save that News Post to another category with alerts enabled, an alert will be generated at that time.

Generating a second alert

You can send a second alert by cloning an existing post and publishing it. It is often a good idea to Unpublish the original post when cloning, to avoid duplicate data in news feeds on your site.

If you use a single news post that is regularly updated with newer information, we recommend setting this post to expire on a regular basis when the information is no longer current (for example, if you use a single news post as a daily announcements update, you can set the post to expire early in the morning on the day after it is sent). When you are ready to refresh the data, simply clone the original post. This will also allow you to maintain a record of updates and edits to recurring events, as Unpublished news posts are still accessible in News Manager.

To clone a news post:

  1. Open News Manager and click on the "Post Manager" tab.

  2. Drill down through the post history to find the post for which you want to send a new alert.

  3. Click the "Clone" button for the appropriate post.

  4. You will be taken to the Clone News Post screen, with all of the data from the original post pre-filled.

  5. Optional: Edit the post, if you wish to update the information it contains.

  6. Determine the "Display Options" of the cloned post.

  7. Click "Save."

  8. Click "Publish." Your new post will go out with the specified alert settings.

     

To Unpublish an existing post:

  1. Open News Manager and click on the "Post Manager" tab.

  2. Drill down through the post history to find the post you wish to retract.

  3. Click the post title to edit the post.

  4. Click "Unpublish."

  5. This post will no longer be visible on the website, but will be accessible through News Manager.

If you need to make changes to a published post but do NOT want an Alert to go out:

  1. Open News Manager and click on the "Post Manager" tab.

  2. Drill down through the post history to find the post you wish to edit.

  3. Make your changes, and click "Save."

  4. Click "Publish." The post will be updated with the new information on the website, and no alert will be sent.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Please Sign in to leave a comment if you don't see the comment box below.