You cannot truly unpublish a page once it is published without deleting it.
You can restore a page with unpublished changes to the previous published state by clicking "Restore," but once a page is published the changes cannot be undone without re-publishing.
If the information you accidentally published needs to be taken down from public view immediately, the best thing to do is go into Page Manager and uncheck the "Display this page on website" function and save the page (click "advanced controls" if you don't see it). It will no longer appear on the website or in the navigation, but you can continue to work on the page, then publish and re-check the box to display it again when it is finished/corrected.
If you lost an extensive amount of content when you accidentally published and are unable to reconstruct it, there are two possible ways to retrieve it:
- Do a Google search on the full page url, which will look something like http://www.mysitename.org/page.cfm?p=123 (substitute your domain name and find the correct p= page id number by hovering on a link to the missing page and observing the page ID number that appears in the lower left hand corner of your browser). If you can't find a page ID, try searching on your domain name and the title of the page. If Google had previously indexed the page and there is a "Cached" link in the search result, click it and you may see the previous version of your content in Google's cache, and you can just copy/paste from it to fix your page.
- You can also open a Support Ticket requesting that we restore the page from backup. We keep hourly backups going back one week, so the sooner you do this the better. We will just need to know the Page Name, the Page ID number (or page title and location in the site hierarchy if you don't know the ID) and the date/time you want it restored to.