Customize eNotify messages with merge tags

This article refers to our legacy product, eNotify. For the best Finalsite experience, we recommend using our newest product, Messages. To learn more, read the Self-Enabling Messages Guide or contact the Support team for assistance.

You can personalize eNotify messages to address recipients by name, or to reflect other information (usernames, passwords, nicknames) from a recipient's profile in Constituent Manager.

Troubleshooting: Can I personalize my message with other fields not listed?

Yes. Up to 10 custom fields can be added to Constituent Manager for use with personalization. Please submit a ticket at least one week prior to the tentative send date for assistance with adding these fields and uploading the data.

eNotify's "Personalization" options allow you to insert a user's profile data by means of placeholder text. For instance, instead of addressing recipients as "Dear Reader," you could address them by their first name by using the %firstname% placeholder. When your message is sent, eNotify will automatically replace the placeholder text with the appropriate data from the user's Constituent Manager profile.

Using the template editor, you can insert personalization placeholders into any text element.

Click on the text element to edit it, then click the "Merge tags" button to display the available placeholders.

Available merge tags

Note: Subscriber data is drawn from the email address that is associated with the name in Constituent Manager. Public users who do not have site logins can be found in Constituent Manager under the "eNotify Subscribers" role. To change the information for a user, simply update the recipient's profile in Constituent Manager. Subsequent personalized email sent will automatically pull the updated information. If subscribing users through a datasheet upload, eNotify will first look for an associated profile and use the profile data first, overwriting the upload data.

In addition to personalization, you can also use merge tags to send users their portal login information, including a link to reset their password (not a plain-text password).

Note: The password reset link will expire 24 hours after sending. 
Was this article helpful?
5 out of 5 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please Sign in to leave a comment if you don't see the comment box below.