In this Article
Resources is a Finalsite module that stores, organizes, and manages files for your website. All the files previously uploaded to either File Manager or Multimedia Manager can now be saved together in Resources. With Resources, you can easily store PDF files, images, videos, and other types of files together, as well as relocate, rename, and rearrange them as needed.
The Resources module is found by clicking on the folder icon in the left Composer toolbar. Five menu items are available to admin-level users: Resources, Galleries, Permissions, Settings, and Deleted Resources.
Click on “Resources” to Add a new resource or view your uploaded files. Resources are separated into "Public" and "Private" folders, and you can add additional folders as desired.
Navigate to the folder you want in the left-hand bar. Files can shown in a list or grid view in the main panel. Once you have selected your folder, you can click the green "Public Resource" button to upload new media into that folder.
Use the search filter at the top of the “All Resources” view to filter resources by keyword or tag. You also have a “Filter” button that enables filtering by resource type, resources with no alt text, resources used or not in use on the site, resources that are not tagged, and external resources.
Quick actions panel
When working in Resources, click on a file to open the quick panel and find the following actions:
- Add to Gallery: add file to an existing gallery.
- Move to folder: move file to an existing folder.
- Delete resource: moves file to Deleted Resources for 30 days before deleted permanently.
- Replace resource: replaces the files in all instances where it is displayed on the site.
- Edit image: only basic cropping available; use image ratios.
- Where used: see where a file is used and located throughout the site.
Click on "Galleries" to view any galleries you have created. Check out our Galleries article for more information.
You can control who is able to access Resources. When you open the Permissions screen, you’ll see all of the admin user groups who have “Composer” permissions assigned in Admin Users, and a dropdown to allow you to choose a permission level for the members of each group: Not Allowed; View, Upload & Edit; or Admin.
- Not Allowed: Admin users in this group will not have access to anything in Resources by default. Rights may be granted to specific folders or galleries individually.
- View, Upload & Edit: Admins will be able to view, edit, and delete public and private resources, as well as have limited access to the Resources and Galleries tabs of the module. They can upload new resources, add resources to galleries, and add new resource folders and galleries. This level does not include the right to delete or edit settings on any folders or galleries.
- Admin: Admins will have full rights to the Resources module, including the ability to assign admin permissions to other admin groups.
Users do not have to be site admins in order to use Resources, however! Portal users can be assigned rights to specific galleries and access the module from their Account menu. For more information about Resources permissions, see the Permissions article.
Resources settings are available to help ensure ADA compliance on your site by requiring alt text in order for images to be shown on the site. There are separate toggles for Resource elements and the content editor. A warning box will display the number of images that will be affected by enabling the alt text requirement for Resource elements.
Delete a resource by clicking on the trashcan icon underneath its thumbnail image from the “All Resources” view. However, that resource is not immediately deleted, in case a mistake was made and it needs to be restored. Instead, it is moved to the “Recycling bin.” To access the Recycling bin, select “Deleted Resources” from the main Resources menu.
Deleted resources will remain in the Recycling bin for 30 days before being permanently removed.
Click on the resource(s) you want to return to Resources and select the “Restore” button.
Note: This will restore the file to Resources, but not to any galleries or locations on the site it existed before being deleted.
Disk space usage
Admin-level users can click on “Disk Space Usage” to see how the allocated file space on your site is being used.
The following categories of files are displayed: free space, personal, public, private, media, classes, other, and Resource Manager. Click on a category to reveal more details about where the files are located. Under Display Settings, you can use the “Chart Type” dropdown menu to choose whether to display this information in a pie, bar, horizontal bar, or cylinder graph.
For more information, read "Consider disk space as you migrate or upload."