Collections

Collections organize your resources for use on your website, like folders. Unlike folders, they do not impact the URL of a resource. This means you can move files and add them to more than one collection. Collections provide the organizational benefit of folders without locking your files into a permanent location in your storage system.

Create a new top-level collection by clicking “Create Collection” on the Collections tab, or add a collection under an existing one by clicking “Create Collection” on the three-dot Action Menu of the desired parent collection. Choose a name, and add a description or thumbnail if desired.

resource7.png

You can have up to three levels of collections. As a best practice, try to organize your files so that three levels are seldom needed.

Collections can be moved after they are created by clicking on "Move Collection" from the three-dot Action Menu. You can change the name, description, or thumbnail of a collection after it is created by selecting “Settings” from the Action Menu. 

It is not required to be a site admin to access or upload to a collection. Permissions for collections can be set for specific groups in Group Manager. Refer to the Resources permissions article for more information about this process.

Add to collection

To add to a collection, click on the checkmark next to a resource to select it. Select as many as you want, then click “Add to Existing Collection” and select a collection. Or, you can create a new collection for the resources you selected by clicking “Add to New Collection” instead.

To add resources to a collection from the collection screen, click the “Add Resource” button to select an existing resource or upload a new resource.

After you have added resources to a collection, click the “Update” button on the bottom right of the screen to finalize the change.

Remove from collection

To remove a resource from a collection, click on the resource, then click on the “Remove from Collection” resource8.png icon underneath the resource preview image. This will remove the resource from the collection, but will not delete it from Resources.

After you have removed resources from a collection, click the “Update” button on the bottom right of the screen to finalize the change.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Please Sign in to leave a comment if you don't see the comment box below.