Messages admin permissions

In this article, we’ll describe the process for granting admin permissions within Messages.

The Messages module is available to any admin user groups who have “Composer” permissions checked off in Admin Users. You can set permissions for the overall module, individual mailing lists, and individual templates.

Module permissions

To access module permissions for Messages, go to the gear icon in the top-right corner of the Dashboard. For each group, choose the level of access to each area from the dropdown menus.

  • Messages & Lists: Options are “Admin,” “View,” and “Not Allowed.” If access is “Not Allowed,” the Messages and Lists tabs will not be visible in the interface. “View” access allows these tabs to be seen, but permissions have to be assigned to specific lists and templates for these users, as detailed below. “Admin” provides full access to all lists and message templates.
  • Operational Messages: Options are “Admin” and “Not Allowed.” This setting controls whether users can send operational messages to constituents. If “Not Allowed,” the option will not be available on the Message Details screen.
  • Templates: Options are “Admin” and “Not Allowed.” If “Not Allowed,” the Templates tab will not be visible in the interface. Permissions for individual templates will have to be granted for these users to create messages.
  • Dynamic Content: Options are “Admin” and “Not Allowed.”  If “Not Allowed,” the Dynamic Content tab will not be visible in the interface. Users will still be able to select a Dynamic Content block in the message and template editor and select an existing configuration.
  • Find Recipient: Options are “Admin” and “Not Allowed.”  If “Not Allowed,” the Find Recipient tab will not be visible in the interface.
  • Workflow Messages: Options are “Admin” and “Not Allowed.” If “Not Allowed,” the Workflow Messages tab will not be visible in the interface.
  • Preview Merge Tags: Options are “Allowed” and “Not Allowed.” If “Not Allowed,” users will not be able to see the “Preview As” option at the top of the preview window to test any merge tags used in the message.
  • Permissions & Settings: Options are “Admin” and “Not Allowed.”  If “Not Allowed,” the Permissions gear icon will not be visible in the interface.

List permissions

List permissions are necessary for anyone who has “View” permission for Messages & Lists above. To access List permissions, go to the gear icon in the bottom-right corner of the list you want to assign rights for and select the “Permissions” tab. Search for a specific admin user or click “Select Group” and choose from the groups underneath “Site Administrators.” Then select the level of access from the dropdown menu.  

  • Admin: Users with this level of permission have full access to the list, including the ability to assign permissions to other admins.
  • View, Edit & Send: Users with this level of permission can view the list, edit the subscribers, and send messages to the list. They can edit the general settings for the list, but not the privacy or permissions settings. 
  • View & Send: Users with this level of permission can view the list and send messages to the list, but they cannot add or remove subscribers or edit the list settings.
  • View: Users with this level of permission can view the list and compose a message to this list, but they cannot send the message. They will see a “Request to Send” option instead of “Schedule Send” on the Message Details screen. 

Template permissions

Template permissions are necessary for anyone who has “View” permission for Messages & Lists above. To access Template permissions, go to the gear icon in the bottom-right corner of the template you want to assign rights for and select the “Permissions” tab. Search for a specific admin user or click “Select Group” and choose from the groups underneath “Site Administrators.” Then select the level of access from the dropdown menu.   

  • Admin: Users with this level of permission have full access to the template, including locked rows, and can lock rows in the message so users with “View” permission cannot edit them.
  • View & Edit: Users with this level of permission will be able to use the template in messages and edit it, including locked rows.
  • View: Users with this level of permission will be able to use the template in messages, but will not be able to edit any locked rows.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please Sign in to leave a comment if you don't see the comment box below.