In this Article
- Create a shared elements
- Edit a shared element
- Make a shared element unique
- Share a container element
- Delete a shared element
A "shared element" is any element that has been customized and then saved for later re-use on a different page or banner.
Site admins can drag and drop a shared element just like any stock, non-customized element; when the shared element is added to a page or banner, though, it will automatically retain the original customizations that were applied when it was first saved.
Create a shared element
Start by adding an element to a page and customizing it. Open up the Element Settings window by clicking the “gear” icon at the upper-right corner of the element.
Click the "Share" toggle in the top right corner of the Element Settings window.
Give the element a unique name that describes its contents or functions, then click "Save and Convert to Shared Element."
The new shared element will appear in the "Shared" section of the element library.
Note: To share an Accordion/Tab Element, first place the element into a Container element and share the Container element.
Edit a shared element
You can edit shared elements after creating them by going to Composer > Elements.
Click on an element to open it for further editing. Any edits you make to an element here will be applied to all instances of that element.
When you drop a shared element onto a page or banner, the usual “gear” icon will be replaced with a "Shared" flag, to let you know that this is a shared element.
Note: Shared elements in banners may need a little extra push in order to update. You may need to republish the banner in order to see the update on your site.
Make a shared element unique
You can still edit shared elements that have been placed onto a page. When you click the "Shared" button, you'll be prompted to decide whether you want to edit the saved shared element, or if you want to “orphan” the shared element you're currently working on. Select "Orphan and Edit" to work on this copy of the shared element in isolation; select "Edit Shared" to edit the master copy of the shared element.
After a Shared element has been orphaned, it will act like an independent, non-shared element.
Share a Container element
Container elements can be shared and reused on other pages. All elements inside the Container will be included when the shared Container is added to another page.
Unlike regular shared elements, shared Container elements cannot be orphaned. This means that shared Container elements can only be edited in the Shared Element editor.
Delete a shared element
Shared elements can be deleted when no longer needed and when you want to remove this as an option showing up in the Element library for your users. To delete a shared element, back out of the Pages menu and click on the Elements tab in the left navigation of Composer. You may also click directly on the element in a banner and you will be taken straight to the Elements tab in Composer.
Choose the element you would like to delete. There, you'll see the trashcan icon in the bottom right corner.
Note: If you do not see the trashcan icon, it may be that you are trying to delete a Container element which cannot be deleted.