Messages permissions

In this article, we’ll describe the process for granting permissions within the Messages communications product. 

As you learn more about Messages, you may realize that your goals would be better met through Messages XR, which adds SMS, voice, and social media to your communication channels beyond what Messages offers. Contact your Client Success Manager or email clientsuccess@finalsite.com to learn more about how to get started. 

Define Composer rights

Before you set Messages permissions, create a separate admin user group in the Admin Users module for admin users who will only be using the Messages module. When you define admin user group rights for this group, make sure that anyone being granted Messages permissions has the Composer box checked. 

Set permissions for the following levels within the Messages module: Global Level, Folder Level, List Level, and Template Level.

Global LevelFolder Level List Level Template Level

Set Global Level permissions

To set Global Level permissions for Messages, go to the gear icon in the top-right corner of the Dashboard.

permissions gear in messages.png

This will open up the Messages Permissions window. 

messages permissions.png

For each group, choose the level of access to each area from the dropdown menus.

Messages & Lists:
  • Not Allowed means the Messages and Lists tabs will not be visible in the interface.
  • View access allows these tabs to be seen, but permissions have to be assigned to specific folders, lists and templates for these users, as detailed below.
  • Admin provides full access to all messages, lists and templates.
Recipient Selection:
  • Not Allowed means the option to select recipients will not be visible on the Message Details screen.
  • Admin level provides the highest level of access to the Recipient Selection process, including the ability to adjust other admin group permission levels except
  • View & Send gives the ability to see available recipients and send to them.
  • View & Send by Location works together with the Locations module. This is the same as the View & Send permission, except that it restricts the admins to only the Location groups this admin user group is allowed to send to. 
  • View level allows the group to see recipients but not send to them.
Channel Selection:
  • Not Allowed means the option to select channels will not be available. The edit pencil will not show up next to the dropdown level selector since no channel selection needs to be made. 
  • Admin level allows for the ability to select from any of the channels and to adjust permission levels for any other admin groups besides one's own. 
  • View & Send level is unique in that it includes an edit pencil next to it. This level allows admin users to view the channels that are chosen in the Channel Selection View Permission window. Click to select and/or deselect a specific channel which you'd like this admin group to have access to be able to view and send messages on. 

    channel selection view permission.png

Templates:
  • Not Allowed level means that the Templates tab will not be visible in the interface. Permissions for individual templates will have to be granted for these users to create and edit messages.
  • Admin level provides all rights and privileges to the Templates area.
Dynamic Content:
  • Not Allowed level means the Dynamic Content tab will not be visible in the interface. Users will still be able to select a Dynamic Content block in the message and template editor and select an existing configuration.
  • Admin level provides all rights and privileges to the Dynamic Content area.
Contacts:
  • Not Allowed setting means that the Contacts tab will not be visible in the interface.
  • Admin level provides all rights and privileges to the Contacts area.
Workflow Messages:
  • Not Allowed setting means that the Workflow Messages tab will not be visible in the interface.
  • Admin level provides all rights and privileges to the Contacts area.
Preview Merge Tags:
  • Not Allowed setting means users will not be able to see the Preview As option at the top of the preview window to test any merge tags used in the message.
  • Admin level provides all rights and privileges to the Preview Merge Tags area.
Permissions & Settings:
  • Not Allowed means the Permissions gear icon will not be visible.
  • Admin level provides all rights and privileges to the Permissions & Settings areas of the module.

Finalsite's Three-Step Guide to Setting Permissions

For an overview on how permissions work within the Finalsite system, read, "The Finalsite Guide to Permissions" where you can find a List of Permission Guides for each area. 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please Sign in to leave a comment if you don't see the comment box below.