Crisis Mode

Crisis Mode allows admins to create a single page that users will see when visiting the site, blocking access to the rest of the front-end site in the event of an emergency.

It helps prevent massive traffic on the site from causing a server crash, and should be used only in the most extreme emergency situations. When Crisis Mode is activated, all back-end administrative functions are still accessible to admins.

Set up Crisis Mode

Crisis mode is easy to set up, but it’s a good idea to prepare your page before something happens, to save time in a high-pressure situation. 

Header

In the “Settings” section of the Crisis Mode configuration screen, you have the opportunity to upload a header logo and choose a header background color, so users recognize that they have landed on your website. 

This section is meant for simple branding, not a picture or any other type of design.

Message

Enter a title and content for your Crisis Mode message in the fields provided. The title will appear as the page title in the browser window. A limited version of the editor is provided for simple formatting of the content. 

Note: It is not possible to save more than one version of the Crisis Mode message. Previous versions will be discarded.

Preview

Save your changes and click the eye icon in the bottom-right corner to see what your Crisis Mode page will look like.

Enable Crisis Mode

Although we hope it will never happen, if you do need to enable crisis mode, do so by clicking the “Inactive” toggle at the top of the screen. 

For school districts, or organizations with multiple domains, you'll be prompted whether you want to enable crisis mode for all domains or specific domain(s).

Crisis Mode will then divert traffic from the website to your message until the “Active” toggle is changed back to “Inactive.”

Monitor admin activity

Because Crisis Mode is an extreme action to take on your website, it’s a good idea to restrict permissions to only a few members of your team. Change the permissions for Crisis Mode by clicking on the gear icon at the top of the screen. 

If an admin makes changes to the Crisis Mode configuration, or enables or disables Crisis Mode, this will be tracked and available to view in the “Audit Log” section. Click the tab in the top right of the screen to access the log and see which admins made changes and when.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please Sign in to leave a comment if you don't see the comment box below.